Volkswagen honours best-performing dealers at annual Grand Prix Awards

Volkswagen honours best-performing dealers at annual Grand Prix Awards
L-R – Niels Wichmann, Head VW Passenger Cars, Conrad Gresse of Upington VW and Martina Biene, Chairperson and MD of VW Group Africa
  • Dealer of the Year awarded to Conrad Gresse of Upington Volkswagen 
  • Lowveld Group is the Micro Dealer Group of the Year
  • For the seventh year in a row, the Hatfield Group won the Macro Dealer Group Award

Johannesburg, 22 April 2024 – Volkswagen brought together its top performers from the Dealer Network at the esteemed Grand Prix Awards held in Sun City last week. 

The Grand Prix Awards acknowledges and recognises the exceptional performance of Volkswagen’s dealerships throughout 2023. 

The Grand Prix Awards ceremony celebrated the achievements of 86 members of the Volkswagen dealer network across 20 different award categories. These accolades recognised excellence in various aspects of dealership performance, including the prestigious Micro and Macro Group of the Year awards.

“The Volkswagen Grand Prix Awards stands as a testament to the unwavering dedication, tireless effort, and exceptional service consistently provided by our dealer network. We extend our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners, expressing profound gratitude for their invaluable contributions to the continued success and reputation of the Volkswagen brand” said Niels Wichmann, Head of Brand, Volkswagen Passenger Cars. 

The esteemed Top Dealer of the Year award, recognising outstanding overall performance across the business, was awarded to Conrad Gresse of Upington Volkswagen. 

Lemmy Dolezal of the Lowveld Group has once again clinched the title of Micro Dealer Group of the Year, repeating his success from last year. The award, which requires a minimum of two dealerships contributing at least 2% towards the overall Volkswagen Dealer sales result, serves as a testament to Dolezal’s outstanding leadership and dedication. 

A significant milestone achievement, the Macro Dealer Group of the Year award was won by Michael Kaftel of the Hatfield Group for the seventh consecutive year. The Hatfield Group exhibited genuine commitment to excellence by contributing a minimum of 8% to the overall Volkswagen Dealer Sales result. 

The awards ceremony also recognised other noteworthy accomplishments within the Volkswagen dealer network. Williem Fourie of Lindsay Saker Alberton was named Service Manager of the Year while Andre Kramer of McCarthy VW Parow was named New Vehicle Sales Manager of the Year. 

A Lifetime Achievement award was also presented to Hendrick Vermaak of McCarthy Group. The Lifetime Achievement award honours individuals who have dedicated their lives to making significant contributions and have left a lasting legacy in the Volkswagen Brand, their community and the automotive industry.


Sign up to receive our newsletter in your inbox, every month.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Verified by MonsterInsights